Innovation Hero Awards


Innovation Hero Award winners receive the Innovation Hero Medal from The Warren Centre and the University of Sydney

The annual Innovation Hero Awards are an initiative of The Warren Centre, awarded for outstanding Australian innovations in engineering technology.

The Innovation Hero Award program recognises people who bring great ideas to life, and the role they play in driving economic and social progress.

It recognises Australian-based people or teams that successfully develop a new technology into a commercial product or service and who create great benefit for Australia. The program covers the whole spectrum of engineering and technology commercialisation in Australia.

Previous winners range from people at the cutting edge of academic physics and engineering who have successfully commercialised their discoveries, through research scientists and engineers in industry who have solved major problems, to serial inventors and entrepreneurs whose products have made a difference to everyday lives.


Nominate your Innovation Hero now

If you know, work with, or know of someone who meets the criteria to be recognised as an Innovation Hero, please let us know right away.

You can download the nomination form here (Word document, 163KB) and email it directly back to us.

The final date for nominations for this year’s awards is Friday 30 May, 2014. The awards will be presented at our Beyond Earth Innovation Lecture Series in September 2014.


Previous Innovation Heroes

View full details of previous Innovation Hero Award winners here.

In 2013, the Innovation Hero was:

  • Michael Hammer – Agilent

In 2012 the Innovation Heroes were:

  • Ian Hedley – Trilift and Safe-Away
  • Frank Seeley AM – Seeley International
  • Dr Alexander Zelinsky – Seeing Machines & CSIRO

In 2011 the Innovation Heroes were:

  • Jason Bender, Simon Hewitt, Richard Jacka, James Lenon – Emue Technologies
  • Dr Ying Gu – JK Research
  • Richard Tamba, Stephen Tapper, Darren Firth, Graham Mowbray – NTC Powertrain
  • Peter Clarke, Jochen Franke – Scanalyse Pty Ltd

In 2010 the Innovation Heroes were:

  • Dr Simon Poole & Dr Steven Frisken – Finisar Australia.
  • Professor Gernot Heiser – Open Kernel Labs
  • Alexander Gosling – Invetech
  • Dr Bob Johnson – Maptek
  • Neil O’Sullivan – NOJA Power